What to visit |Tossa de Mar
Book Now


Hotel Delfín ****:(+34) 972 34 02 50

Hotel Diana ***:(+34) 972 34 18 86

What to visit

You are here

La Villa Vella:

It is a declared historic and artistic national monument on 1931. Its walled enclosed is the emblem of the municipality. Nowadays, it is the only example of a fortified medieval town that still exists in the Catalan coast. Although it was built in the early s. XIII, it has undergone several restorations over the centuries, the most important made in the late fourteenth century, which have provided its current appearance. Almost all of the original perimeter is preserved crenellated walls. The canvas wall distributes four towers and three cylindrical towers topped by battlements. The towers best known are the tower “d'en Joanas”, who chairs the bay; Tower of the Hours, located at the entrance of the courtyard, which owes its name to that was the only place where a public clock stood; and the tower “es Codolar”, also known as the Tower of Homage, presiding Beach “es Codolar”.

Inside the Vila Vella is a charming space narrow streets paved with pebbles. You can still enjoy the charm of many of its Gothic windows, beautifully historiated. We must emphasize the magnificent oval portal that gives access to the Vila Vella through the courtyard.

Inside the Vila Vella, deserve special mention the old church of San Vicente. This late Gothic church was built in the s. XV on a previous Romanesque church recently discovered and dated in the s. XII. North-south oriented and located in a privileged position on a cliff fifty meters, its original appearance must surely be impressive. Currently, only the apse and sacristy retain the cover. 

Municipal Museum of Tossa de Mar

Located in the former home of batlle de sac or governor, it was inaugurated on 1st September 1935, becoming the first museum of contemporary art of the Spanish State. Tossa was an artistic claim much earlier: at the end of s. XIX beauty of its landscape had been an inspiration for many works. But it was in the s. XX, during the first five years of the thirties, when Tossa became a real magnet for artists from all disciplines and backgrounds, becoming an important center of art. Whithout forgetting country artists as Rafael Pere Benet or Creixams, who resided in Tossa, artists like Marc Chagall, André Masson, Georges Bataille, etc. were installed and were working in the town, some of them until the outbreak of the Civil War, when this period was interrupted as fruitful. However, in 1935, before this unfortunate time in our history, a sensitive art intellectuals group is decided to found the Municipal Museum, with the intention to place on record what was being created at that time, as well as the archaeological legacy from the site of “els Ametllers”. Today, the museum custody a large part of the artifacts of the town of els Ametllers and an important art collection. 

Church of San Vincente

This parish church with neoclassic style Sant Vicenç was begun in 1755 and finished in 1776. In the s. XVIII, the old church of San Vicente (early s. XV), located inside the Vila Vella, had become too small to accommodate the parishioners.

Furthermore, in the s. XVI, the Tossa's population had expanded outside the walls and the remoteness of the church was uncomfortable. On 12th November 1750 the Royal Council license was obtained to build a new temple. Even for a simple building, include the volume of the central nave. Originally decorated altars and popular baroque style images, many of them from the local Cas Fuster workshop, it is regrettable the disappearance of this valuable heritage during the Civil War. Many of these decorative elements, irretrievably lost, came from the old church, as in the case of recumbent sculpture of the Virgen de la Antigua, clearly Gothic style and unique beauty.

Its interior's painting has been recently restored and the church has regained some of its beauty and radiance.

The Vila Romana Tossa dels Atmetllers 

Discovered in 1914 by Dr. Ignasi Mele, the Roman villa dels Ametllers (s I B.C. -.. S VI A.D.), is one of the most important towns in the former province of Tarraco. Especially dedicated to growing grapes and wine export of consumer goods, it is a classic example of farming in the Roman Mediterranean. From the architectural point of view, it consists of two distinct areas. Its location on the eastern slope of the hill of Can Magí, facing the sea and overlooking the bay clearly conditioned the layout of the building.

The first part or noble area of the set, located on the upper level, finds the magnitude of this town, especially during the II century A.D. Elements such as the magnificent thermal baths, mosaics, stucco, the rare winter dining room, the ninfeo (fountain), or the pool with its imposing sculpture of Carrara marble, which is preserved in the Municipal Museum, highlight the exceptionality of this construction.

The second part, located on the lower level, was the industrial area. There warehouses and processing facilities for agricultural products, which were produced wine, oil, salted fish and where cereals were also kept. The styles of bone and ivory, ceramics, coins or brooches that are exposed in the Municipal Museum, are a credible witness to the daily life of this place.

This type of villas combined perfectly the exploitation of the territory, which in the case of the town dels Ametllers covered much of the current town of Tossa, with the luxury and comforted of their owners. Most of the structures that remain today are of Augustan period (late B.C. I s -. I A.D. early s.). 

Casa Sans - Hotel Diana

This is a unique building because of its aesthetic eclecticism. It was built in 1906 on behalf of its owner Joan Sans. It was the architect Antoni de Falguera, who had been a disciple of Puig Cadafalch. The building has a unique coastline, with modernist gargoyles representing the four seasons, glazed ceramic tiles and forges very similar to that found in the Vicens House Barcelona. This facade was originally decorated with vegetable themed paintings and two female figures that have not been preserved. Inside much of the decorative repertoire of Falguera Antoni who designed is still preserved. The magnificent stained glass windows with plant elements, along with the spectacular fireplace are absolutely modernist style. In 1930, the House Sans became property of the family Vilallonga. They belong to this time the marble staircase and fountain with the sculpture of Diana the Huntress, attributed to Frederic Marés.

Currently, Casa Sans has become the Hotel Diana. No need to stay at the Hotel to enjoy the architectural beauty of Casa Sans, the Hotel Diana has a beachfront terrace from which to enjoy the exterior of the unique building. The Hotel Diana retains the architectural style and much of the interior decoration of the old Casa Sans. The architecture and location of Hotel Diana makes a stay an unforgettable experience.

Stay connected!

Hotel Delfín****S

Hotel Diana***


Our hotels